Blog

Negative interest rate indicators and our experience with community loan agreements

“Floor or no floor” – a sentence with a big impact. With regard to contracts, in the light of the current case law or in the handling of various banks on the subject of non-disclosure of the negative indicators, a first distinction must be made as to whether or not an interest rate floor was agreed in the original contract.

In the case of contracts without an interest rate floor in the original loan agreement, the starting situation is definitely positive for the communities. We can underline this with current comparison solutions, which we continuously bring about. There are no OGH judgments yet. We do not know whether and when there will be decisions on this contractual situation by the OGH. We also do not know whether the OGH has any cases in this regard – according to our lawyers, no. If this remains so, a waiver of limitation would not lead to an automatic reimbursement. Individual action is therefore always necessary and a waiver of limitation does not really help if the bank does not want to start negotiations for solutions.

For contracts with an interest rate floor in the original loan agreement, there is already a first OGH judgment from 2019. This has been in favor of the bank (we are happy to provide this on request). This is a case of corporate finance (real estate), which, in our view, is only partially applicable to municipalities due to its short-term nature. Nevertheless, the banks also refer to municipalities (as is well known, municipalities are not consumers). Please note, however, that this judgment speaks of an absolute interest rate floor (of 2.75%) and not of an interest rate floor of 0% plus surcharge (“indicator floor”). According to our lawyers, individual wording and wording can be decisive here.

At present, there are apparently more cases with a lower interest rate at the OGH for decision, so that one will probably have more information and legal bases in 2020. However, we still recommend obtaining limitation waivers (as far as this makes sense and possible), as further OGH judgments cannot currently be assessed and possible imbalances could occur in the future.

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.

Blog

Negative Zinsindikatoren und unsere Erfahrungen bei Kreditverträgen für Gemeinden

Floor oder kein Floor“ – kurze Formulierung mit großer Auswirkung: Hinsichtlich Vertragswerk ist im Lichte der aktuellen Rechtsprechung bzw. in der Handhabung diverser Banken zur Thematik der Nichtweitergabe der negativen Zinsindikatoren in erster Linie zu unterscheiden, ob im ursprünglichen Vertrag eine Zinsuntergrenze (Floor) vereinbart wurde oder nicht.

Bei Verträgen ohne Zinsuntergrenze im ursprünglichen Kreditvertrag ist die Ausgangssituation auf alle Fälle positiv für die Gemeinden. Dies können wir mit aktuellen Vergleichslösungen unterstreichen, die wir laufend herbeiführen. Es gibt dazu aber noch keine OGH Urteile. Ob und wann es zu dieser Vertragssituation OGH Entscheidungen geben wird, entzieht sich unserer Kenntnis. Uns ist auch nicht bekannt, ob diesbezügliche Fälle überhaupt beim OGH liegen – laut Auskunft unserer Anwälte nein. Sollte dies so bleiben, würde auch ein vorhandener Verjährungsverzicht (VVZ) zu keiner automatischen Erstattung führen.

Ein individuelles Tätigwerden der Gemeinde ist somit immer notwendig und hilft ein Verjährungsverzicht nicht wirklich, wenn die Bank nicht Verhandlungen über Lösungen aufnehmen möchte.

Bei Verträgen mit Zinsuntergrenze im ursprünglichen Kreditvertrag gibt es bereits ein erstes OGH Urteil aus 2019. Dieses ist zu Gunsten der Bank ausgefallen (gerne stellen wir dieses auf Wunsch zur Verfügung). Dabei handelt es sich um einen Fall der Unternehmensfinanzierung (Immobilien), der aus unserer Sicht auch aufgrund der Kurzfristigkeit aber nur bedingt auf Gemeinden anwendbar ist. Trotzdem beziehen die Banken dies auch auf Gemeinden (bekanntlich sind Gemeinden keine Konsumenten). Bitte beachten Sie jedoch, dass in diesem Urteil von einer absoluten Zinsuntergrenze (von 2,75%) gesprochen wird und nicht von einer Zinsuntergrenze von 0% zuzüglich Aufschlag („Indikator-Untergrenze“). Hier können lt. Auskunft unserer Rechtsanwälte einzelne Formulierungen und Wortlaute entscheidend sein.

Aktuell liegen anscheinend weitere Fälle mit Zinsuntergrenze beim OGH zur Entscheidung, so dass man hier voraussichtlich noch in 2020 über mehr Informationen und Rechtsgrundlagen verfügen wird. Wir empfehlen trotzdem auch für diese Fälle die Einholung von Verjährungsverzichten (soweit sinnvoll und möglich), da weitere OGH Urteile derzeit nicht einschätzbar sind und in der Zukunft eventuelle Ungleichgewichte auftreten könnten.

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.