COVID-19 & Municipalities Financing: securing liquidity and credit tenders

COVID-19 & Municipalities Financing: securing liquidity and credit tenders

COVID-19: Coping with the current health crisis demands contributions from all of us. The public sector, and thus the federal government, the federal states and the municipalities, is an essential cornerstone of financial stability. The Austrian federal government has issued an aid program of EUR 38 billion.

Austria will also raise the necessary funds on the capital market through bonds, which are held to a large extent by international investors. Hopefully, this tried-and-tested system will largely ensure efficient borrowing even in the current situation. In addition to a financing structure, the federal government also has a debt management strategy. The countries also benefit from this. As is well known, this path is blocked for the municipalities. Although the debts of the municipalities without the city of Vienna are only approx. 3% of the total government debt, should there also be an efficient and partnership-based borrowing guaranteed. [1] The creditors of the municipalities will currently continue to be Austrian financing partners with reference to the region.

Municipalities are currently losing income, which in the short term will lead to budget shifts in addition to additional liquidity. In the foreseeable future, investment programs will also be required at the community level. This makes borrowing even more important for the communities. At the same time, the scope of the activities of community workers will increase; however, the time budgets are falling. Failures due to illness must also be compensated for.

In addition to the creditworthiness, essential success factors for efficient borrowing are personal commitment, time, know-how and a clear focus on digitalization.

As FRC – Finance & Risk Consult GmbH, we support municipalities in Austria with efficient and cooperative borrowing and loan support. On this occasion, we grant a 30% discount for all new customers who decide to work with us on credit tenders by the end of May 2020 for the first 12 months. We are convinced that we are making our contribution to “reconstruction”. Contact us via support@frc-consult.com.


[1] Source: 2018-2020 public finance report, December 2019, Fiskalrat, https://www.fiskalrat.at/ and own research

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.

COVID-19 & Gemeindefinanzen: Sonderrabattierung bei Kreditausschreibungen

COVID-19 & Gemeindefinanzen: Sonderrabattierung bei Kreditausschreibungen

Die Bewältigung der aktuellen Gesundheitskrise fordert von uns allen Beiträge. Wesentlicher Eckpfeiler für die Stabilität im finanziellen Bereich ist die Öffentliche Hand und damit der Bund, die Länder und die Gemeinden. Die österreichische Bundesregierung hat ein Hilfsprogramm von EUR 38 Mrd. erlassen.

Die notwendigen Mittel dazu wird der Bund auch am Kapitalmarkt über Anleihen aufnehmen, die zu einem großen Teil von internationalen Investoren gehalten werden. Dieses bewährte System gewährleistet hoffentlich auch in der derzeitigen Situation weitestgehend eine effiziente Mittelaufnahme. Zusätzlich verfügt der Bund neben einer Finanzierungsstruktur über eine Schuldenmanagementstrategie. Davon profitieren auch die Länder. Den Gemeinden ist dieser Weg bekanntlich versperrt. Obwohl die Schulden der Gemeinden ohne der Stadt Wien nur rd. 3% der gesamten Staatsschulden ausmachen, sollte auch dort eine effiziente und partnerschaftliche Kreditaufnahme gewährleistet sein.[1] Die Gläubiger der Gemeinden werden aktuell weiterhin österreichische Finanzierungspartner sein, mit Bezug zur Region.

Gemeinden verlieren aktuell Einnahmen, was kurzfristig neben Zusatzliquidität zu Budgetumschichtungen führen wird. Bereits in absehbarer Zeit werden verstärkt Investitionsprogramme auch auf Gemeindeebene erforderlich sein. Dadurch wird die Kreditaufnahme noch wichtiger für die Gemeinden. Gleichzeitig wird der Umfang der Tätigkeiten der Gemeindemitarbeiter steigen; die Zeitbudgets jedoch sinken. Auch krankheitsbedingte Ausfälle müssen kompensiert werden. 

Wesentliche Erfolgsfaktoren für eine effiziente Kreditaufnahme sind neben der Bonität nach unserer Erfahrung persönlicher Einsatz, Zeit, Know-how und der klare Focus auf Digitalisierung. Als FRC – Finance & Risk Consult GmbH unterstützen wir Gemeinden in Österreich bei einer effizienten und partnerschaftlichen Kreditaufnahme sowie Kreditbetreuung.

Aus gegebenem Anlass gewähren wir allen Kunden/Neukunden, die sich bis Ende Mai 2020 für eine nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit mit uns bei Kreditausschreibungen (Neuvertrag) entscheiden, eine Rabattierung um 30% für die ersten 12 Monate. Dies gilt auch für Umschuldungen. Wir sind überzeugt, damit unseren Beitrag zum „Wiederaufbau“ zu leisten. Kontaktieren Sie uns dazu über support@frc-consult.com.


[1] Quelle: Bericht über die Öffentlichen Finanzen 2018 – 2020, Dezember 2019, Fiskalrat, https://www.fiskalrat.at/ und eigene Recherchen

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.