Der Querdenker – Municipality financial report 2015

Der Querdenker – Municipality financial report 2015

News about the municipality finances …

The Austrian municipal association published the  Gemeindefinanzbericht 2015. In summary, it can be seen that the communities have done well. The total debt of the municipalities has declined slightly. Fortunately, the municipalities in Lower Austria and Burgenland have reduced their debt levels more clearly than the average of all Austrian municipalities.

Is there a west / east gradient?

The picture above shows the most heavily indebted communities, but also the municipalities with the highest financial strength. In both cases, municipalities from West Austria are in the first place. It can be seen that without investment, no growth and no financial strength can be generated.

Interest rates…

A glance at the interest rate on financial liabilities shows that the average interest rate of municipalities with a population of up to max. 50,000 is around 1.2 percent per year. This appears low at first glance.

If one considers, however, that the majority of these financial liabilities have variable interest rates and are linked to the EURIBOR, then this must also be regarded as a “Querdenker”. The EURIBOR is at its low and has a negative value. As is well known, interest rates can not only fall but also occasionally rise. Not to think, we have ever again a EURIBOR rate b of 2% and higher …

How does an analysis of financial debt help me?

An analysis of your financial debts not only gives you an overview of the status of your finances, but also shows you whether you can still afford new projects in the future or how your status is compared to other municipalities.

The FRC approach is supported by a variety of software programs, which are also used in the banking sector. In particular, we offer a financing check for your existing financing portfolio (loans, leasing), the ongoing management of your individual financing up to the analysis of future projects and their impact on the total debt as well as the “Freie Finanzspitze”. The invitation to tender for new financing including the determination of the best bidder round off our basic package. Thanks to our know-how, our customers benefit not only from a high time saving but also financially. Results in the past have shown that significant savings are possible on an annual basis.

What is the so-called net debt?

If the assets of a municipality are deducted from the financial debt, then the net debt is obtained. In order to quantify the assets of a municipality, they must be valued. We also refer to our own FRC Corporate Blog (VRV 2015) on the topic of evaluating community assets. We are happy to help you here as well.

Please contact us for a non-binding first consultation at support@frc-consult.com.

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.

Der Querdenker – Gemeindefinanzbericht 2015

Der Querdenker – Gemeindefinanzbericht 2015

Aktuelles über ihre Gemeindefinanzen…

Aktuell wurde vom österreichischen Gemeindebund der Gemeindefinanzbericht 2015 veröffentlicht. Zusammenfassend kann man feststellen, dass die Gemeinden gut gewirtschaftet haben. Die gesamte Verschuldung der Gemeinden ist leicht gesunken. Erfreulicherweise haben die Gemeinden in Niederösterreich und Burgenland ihren Schuldenstand deutlicher als der Durchschnitt aller österreichischen Gemeinden reduziert.

Gibt es ein West-/Ostgefälle?

Das Bild unseres Blogs zeigt die am höchsten verschuldeten Gemeinden aber auch die Gemeinden mit der höchsten Finanzkraft. In beiden Fälle finden sich Gemeinden aus Westösterreich auf den ersten Plätzen. Man sieht, dass ohne Investitionen auch kein Wachstum und keine Finanzkraft zu erwirtschaften sind.

Verzinsung…

Ein Blick auf die Verzinsung der Finanzschulden zeigt, dass der durschnittliche Zinssatz von Gemeinden mit einer Einwohneranzahl von bis zu max. 50.000 bei rd 1,2 Prozent pro Jahr liegt. Dies erscheint am ersten Blick niedrig.

Bedenkt man jedoch, dass der Großteil dieser Finanzschulden variabel verzinst und an den EURIBOR gebunden ist, dann muss man dies auch als „Querdenker“ betrachten. Der EURIBOR ist auf seinem Tiefstsand und weist einen negativen Wert auf. Bekanntlich können Zinsen nicht nur fallen, sondern auch gelegentlich steigen. Nicht auszudenken, wir haben jemals wieder einen EURIBOR Satz bvon 2 % und höher…

Wie hilft mir nun eine Analyse der Finanzschulden?

Eine Analyse ihrer Finanzschulden verschafft Ihnen nicht nur einen Überblick über den Zustand ihrer Gemeindefinanzen sondern zeigt Ihnen auch, ob Sie sich neue Projekte in der Zukunft überhaupt noch leisten können bzw. wie ihre Gemeinde im Vergleich zu anderen Gemeinden liegt.

Der FRC Ansatz wird durch eine Vielzahl von Software-Programmen unterstützt, welche auch im Bankbereich zum Einsatz kommen. Im Speziellen bieten wir neben einem Finanzierungscheck für Ihr bestehendes Finanzierungsportfolio (Kredite, Leasing) die laufende Gestionierung Ihrer einzelnen Finanzierungen bis hin zur Analyse von zukünftigen Projekten und deren Auswirkung auf die Gesamtverschuldung sowie die „Freie Finanzspitze“. Die Ausschreibung von Neufinanzierungen einschließlich der Ermittlung des Bestbieters runden unser Basispaket ab. Durch unser Know-how schlägt sich der Nutzen unserer Kunden neben einer hohen Zeitersparnis auch finanziell nieder. Ergebnisse in der Vergangenheit haben gezeigt, dass deutliche Ersparnisse auf jährlicher Basis möglich sind.

Was ist die sogenannte Nettoverschuldung?

Zieht man von den Finanzschulden die Vermögenswerte einer Gemeinde ab, dann erhält man die Nettoverschuldung. Damit man die Vermögenswerte einer Gemeinde quantifizieren kann, müssen diese bewertet werden. Zum Thema Bewertung von Gemeindevermögen wird auch auf unseren eigenen FRC Corporate Blog (VRV 2015) verwiesen.  Gerne untersützen wir Sie auch hier.

Kontaktieren Sie uns für ein unverbindliches Erstgespräch unter support@frc-consult.com.

About The Author

Heinz Hofstaetter
Over 20 years of international experience in senior management positions in the areas of consulting, banking, finance, asset management, valuation and Real Assets.